Skip to product information
1 of 5

Sophia N. Lee

Holding On

Holding On

Regular price $23.99 CAD
Regular price Sale price $23.99 CAD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
A young girl in the Philippines uses music to connect with her grandmother as her memory fades in this warm and moving picture book perfect for fans of Pixar’s Coco.

There is always singing in Lola’s house. Sammy Davis Jr. in the morning, Dean Martin in the afternoon, and all throughout the evening, old Tagalog love songs from Nora Aunor, Basil Valdez, and more. Lola always says: “If you want to hold on, you gotta sing your songs.”

Her granddaughter tucks these sounds and Lola’s wisdom deep within her heart. And when Lola starts slipping into silence and stillness, she helps Lola hold on, piece by piece, with the joy and music that Lola taught her.
Author: Sophia N. Lee 
Illustrator: Isabel Roxas 
Ages: 4-8 
Binding: Hardcover 
Pages: 32 
Published by: Atheneum Books for Young Readers (August 2022) 
View full details